Mr. Dimitris Theodossiou, Managing Director, DANAOS Management Consultants S.A, received the award for his valuable contribution to the industry, introducing the IT Management Systems and integrating technology into a more structured approach to decision making as the Managing Director of Danaos Management Consultants which is a worldwide leader in maritime software solutions.

 Presenting the award Mrs. Aggeliki Theodosiou, Client Service Manager, SQEMARINE said “The digital evolution is shaping the maritime future in multiple aspects. Although at first, as it goes with every change, digitalization was met with skepticism, now the industry acknowledges that new technological developments are key to improving efficiency in every front. In this challenging path, having inspirational personalities who make the difference with their strategic decisions and daily contribution are our industry’s strength.”

Accepting the award Mr. Dimitris Theodossiou stated ‘’This award is actually dedicated to my colleagues, the DANAOS team who share common dreams and ambitions and for these 34 years of existence, we have managed to become a leading company in our field, succeeding also in embracing Internet of Things and Artificial Intelligence in the smart shipping era with innovative solutions. The future is totally open for us, the 4th Revolution is calling to change the whole scenery!’’

As a Co- Founder and Managing Director of DANAOS MANAGEMENT CONSULTANTS S.A.- a worldwide leader in maritime software solutions since 1986, Mr. Theodossiou has architected and developed several maritime software solutions in Financial/Ship Management and Commercial domains. Mr. Theodossiou has managed a plethora of maritime composite systems and has leaded scientific teams for several European Research programs. Namely, some of the programs that Mr. Theodossiou has leaded, include ORISMA Franz Edelman finalist Program and WAVES Fleet Management. He is also member of The Technical Chamber of Greece (TEE-TCG). Mr. Theodossiou holds a MEng. Diploma in Naval Architecture and Marine/Mechanical Engineering from National Technical University of Athens as well as a MSc in Information Technology and a MSc. in Industrial Marketing from UCL, University of London.

This is a special category award for any individual person that provided industry leadership and contributed toward smarter shipping throughout his/her career, after consideration and review of a list of “Editor’s Pick” nominees by the SAFETY4SEA Team. SMART4SEA Awards are held annually within the scope of awarding industry’s outstanding practices for e-navigation, connectivity, energy efficiency, cyber security, training and smart shipping technology. Other winners of the 2020 SMART4SEA Awards are: MarineFields Holding Ltd for the e-Navigation Award, OTESAT – MARITEL for the Connectivity Award, LAROS for the Energy Efficiency Award, Wärtsilä for the Cyber Security Award, DNVGL for the Training Award, METIS Cyberspace Technology SA. for the Technology Award and Mr. Tor A. Svanes, Managing Director, NAVTOR AS for the Leadership Award.

Find photos from the awards ceremony at Flickr and explore more about the nomination & voting procedure and the winners of 2020 SMART4SEA Awards at