Specifically, during the Torremolinos Ministerial Conference on Fishing Vessel Safety and Illegal, Unreported and Unregulated (IUU) Fishing, 21-23 October, the states supported the implementation of safety measures for the fishing sector in efforts to better protect those working in the industry.

The Hon. Henry Puna, Prime Minister of the Cook Islands, deposited the instrument of accession for Cook Islands. HE Eng. Francisco Martins dos Ramos, Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Rural  Development, Sao Tome and Principe, deposited the instrument of accession for Sao Tome and Principe.

Also, the states joined 44 other countries (46 in total) in the Torremolinos Declaration, according to which all 46 states that are participating show their determination to ensure the Cape Town Agreement reaches entry into force criteria by the tenth anniversary of its adoption, 11 October 2022.


Accordingly, the entry will come into force a year after 22 States minimum, with 3,600 vessels of 24 m in length and over, express their support on being in line with the agreement.

For the time being, the countries that have entered the Cape Town Agreement are: Belgium, Congo, Cook Islands, Denmark, France, Germany, Iceland, Netherlands, Norway, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Sao Tome and Principe, South Africa and Spain.

Moreover, the countries signing the agreement officially denounce the proliferation of IUU fishing, recognizing that international safety standards for fishing vessels will provide port States with a mandatory instrument to carry out safety inspections of fishing vessels, thereby increasing control and transparency of fishing activities.

The ones that have signed the declaration are Argentina, Belgium, Belize, Central African Republic, Chile, China, Congo (Republic of), Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Croatia, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Ecuador, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Germany, Ghana, Guinea (Republic of), Guinea Bissau, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Kriibati, Liberia, Marshall Islands, Mozambique, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Norway, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Republic of Korea, Sao Tome and Principe, South Africa, Spain, Togo, Uganda, United Kingdom, Vanuatu.

Concluding, the Torremolinos Conference is conducted by IMO and the Spanish Government, supported by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) and The Pew Charitable Trusts.