The winners of the first SAFETY4SEA – EUROPORT Awards are:

Tallinn Shipyard (Member of BLRT Grupp) received the Workplace Safety Award for emphasizing on every safety aspect, having its own safety service station with modern safety equipment, including advanced life-saving appliances and firefighting systems, as well as qualified staff. Other short-listed nominees for this category were: Blohm + Voss, Damen Shipyards, Meyer Turku and Turku Repair Yard (Member of BLRT Grupp).

CSMART received the Training Award for being a world-class training center for safety, sustainability and operational excellence in maritime and featuring the most advanced simulator equipment, technology and instructional tools, which emphasize on critical thinking, problem solving and decision-making. Other short-listed nominees for this category were: BIMCO Training, Clyde Marine Training, IMaREST and RelyOn Nutec.

VSTEP Simulation received the Technology Award for pushing the market of innovative training simulators to a new level, with the aim to enhance the industry’s overall training effectiveness and safety, through continuous research and development. Other short-listed nominees for this category were: Consilium Marine, HELM Innovation and Hydrotest Systems.

Wallem received the Ship Operator Award for being a leading provider of technology-driven maritime solutions, including asset management, crewing, training, ship management, safety and compliance management and agency services, combining technology and forward-thinking to deliver on safety without compromise. Other short-listed nominees for this category were: Anglo- Eastern, K- Line Europe Ltd, Oldendorff Carriers and Zeaborn Ship Management.

InterManager received the Initiative Award for launching a campaign to stimulate everyone in the shipping community to think about dangers associated to enclosed spaces for seafarers and encourage them to create a safer environment for those people working at sea. Other short-listed nominees for this category were: Human Rights At Sea, Lloyd’s Register, Sailors’ Society and TT Club

In light of these awards, EUROPORT has partnered with SAFETY4SEA to stage a series of special awards concentrating on four specific themes: digital shipping; environmental protection; safety at sea and maritime careers. The winners are those who attracted the most votes by the end of a voting period which was held online during a three-month period. The process included a combination of open nomination and voting which provided a unique opportunity for all nominees to get acknowledged for the hard and good work they put into their projects and initiatives, worth to be awarded. In particular, the awards were open to organisations and individuals participating in EUROPORT as exhibitors or partners, or which are based, or operating with an office in Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden or United Kingdom.

Find photos from the awards ceremony at Flickr and explore more about the nomination & voting procedure and the winners of 2019 SAFETY4SEA – EUROPORT Awards at .