The winners of the first CAREER4SEA – EUROPORT Awards are:

Hamburg School of Business Administration (HSBA) received the Educational Award for offering maritime education, doctoral programme and application-oriented research. With its Digital Innovation Lab, HSBA has also created a platform to strengthen competitiveness in the age of digital era. Other short-listed nominees for this category were: Netherlands Maritime University, TU Delft, Warsash Maritime Academy and World Maritime University

KVNR received the Investment in Shipping Award for representing shipping companies involved in merchant shipping and sea towage, to bring those companies together in order to protect and promote their common interests on a national, European and global level. Other short-listed nominees for this category were: Anglo- Eastern, Carnival Corporation and V. Group Ltd.

PortXL received the Initiative Award for its annual innovation program, which focuses on creating tangible business value for maritime startups who are serious about building their business. Other short-listed nominees for this category were: Careers At Sea, Rotterdam Maritime Capital, ISWAN and Sea Focus.

WISTA received the Women in Shipping Award for supporting the role of women within the maritime industry through many activities and initiatives. Namely, WISTA International serves as a connector for its network of more than 3,000 female professionals from all sectors of the maritime industry. Other short-listed nominees for this category were: IAPH and Maritime UK

Peter Paul van Voorst tot Voorst received the New Generation Award for achieving a remarkable career milestone as a young maritime representative, with the foundation of his company which aims to play a game-changing role in making the maritime industry cleaner and more sustainable.

In light of these awards, EUROPORT has partnered with SAFETY4SEA to stage a series of special awards concentrating on four specific themes: digital shipping; environmental protection; safety at sea and maritime careers. The winners are those who attracted the most votes by the end of a voting period which was held online during a three-month period. The process included a combination of open nomination and voting which provided a unique opportunity for all nominees to get acknowledged for the hard and good work they put into their projects and initiatives, worth to be awarded. In particular, the awards were open to organizations and individuals participating in EUROPORT as exhibitors or partners, or which are based, or operating with an office in Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden or United Kingdom.

Find photos from the awards ceremony at Flickr and explore more about the nomination & voting procedure and the winners of 2019 SAFETY4SEA – EUROPORT Awards at .