The winners of the 2019 SAFETY4SEA Awards are:

Alpha Bulkers Shipmanagement Inc. received the SAFETY4SEA Dry Bulk Operator Award, sponsored by ABS, for managing a world class fleet of Dry Bulk Carrier vessels, committed to Safety and Environmental Protection and focusing on developing a unique safety culture for all personnel ashore and on-board. Other short-listed nominees for this category were: Dockendale Ship Management, Nordic Hamburg, Pacific Basin Shipping Limited and Zeaborn Ship Management.

Alpha Bulkers Shipmanagement Inc. operates a fleet of 34 large bulk carriers since 1989. Headquartered in Athens, Greece, with affiliated offices in London and Singapore, the company employs about 150 shore-based professionals and 1,400 seafarers. Alpha Bulkers Shipmanagement has recently commenced a fleet renewal program by ordering new buildings and purchasing modern 2nd hand ships committed to “ECO-design” standards.

Springfield Shipping Co. received the SAFETY4SEA Tanker Operator Award, sponsored by MacGregor, for setting as a core priority the continuous improvement of the services offered to their clients in the areas of crewing, safe and efficient vessels’ operations and environmental protection. Other short-listed nominees for this category were: Cosco Shipping Tankers (Shanghai), Fleet Management Limited, ITM Ltd and MINERVA MARINE Inc.

Springfield Shipping Co. Panama S.A., is the technical manager of the Tanker fleet of Olympic Shipping and Management S.A. Olympic Shipping and Management S.A., previously known as Olympic Maritime, was established by Aristotle S. Onassis. Since 1997, the company is located in Athens, Greece (P. Phaleron).

Sustainable Shipping Initiative (SSI) received the SAFETY4SEA Sustainability Award, sponsored by Latsco Marine Management Inc., for bringing together leading companies in the maritime sector to create a sustainable and successful shipping industry by 2040 addressing shipping industry’s social, environmental and economic impacts. Other short-listed nominees for this category were: ABB, ABS, Global Maritime Forum and Green Marine.

Sustainable Shipping Initiative (SSI) is a multi-stakeholder initiative with the aim to improve the sustainability of the shipping industry in terms of social, environmental and economic impacts. Founded in 2010, SSI accelerates sustainable development in the shipping industry in three ways; through leadership, innovation and sharing. SSI members range from charterers, shipowners and shipyards to ports & port operators, banks, ship finance and insurance providers, classification societies and technology companies.

Metropolitan College / Warsash Maritime Academy received the SAFETY4SEA Training Award, sponsored by Chandris (Hellas) Inc., for collaborating with the aim of delivering comprehensive Naval and Maritime Education with an international perspective. Other short-listed nominees for this category were: IMCA, MAGSAYSAY Peoples Resources Corporation, Hellenic Navy - NAFTES and Veritas Training Center.

Greece’s Metropolitan College has collaborated with the world-renowned British Warsash Maritime Academy, to deliver education with an international perspective. Warsash Maritime Academy is part of Southampton Solent University’s Warsash School of Maritime Science and Engineering. The programmes of study offering with the Metropolitan/ Warsash collaboration are two: BSc (Hons) Marine Operations Management (falls under the School of Merchant Navy Captains) and BEng (Hons) Marine Engineering & Management (falls under the School of Merchant Navy Engineers).

Synergy Group received the SAFETY4SEA Technology Award, sponsored by Diaplous Maritime Services, for its free and confidential chat and phone based multilingual psychological helpline ‘iCall’. The APP and helpline are potentially life-saving resources for the worldwide maritime community and are run by professional, trained counselors. Other short-listed nominees for this category were: Crowley Maritime Corporation, Kongsberg Digital, Marlink and V. Group.

Counsellors at iCALL are equipped to view and address concerns from the psychosocial lens, which is aimed at understanding the different levels at which an individual may require help and support. iCALL counselors are trained not just in helping with emotional stabilization during crisis, but also in providing long term therapy for distress.

The North of England P&I Club received the SAFETY4SEA Initiative Award, sponsored by Minerva Marine Inc, for launching SCORA which is an on-line Safety Culture Organisational Assessment tool, developed in collaboration with Green Jakobsen that provides an insight into any organisation’s capacity for safety. Other short-listed nominees for this category were: HiLo Maritime Risk Management, Mission to Seafarers, UK Chamber of Shipping and UK P&I Club.

Launched in March 2019, SCORA uses a specially designed, easily accessible online survey to assess the safety maturity of vessel operators across five key safety areas:  Safety Leadership; Health & Wellbeing; Risk Management; Learning & Development; Safety Reporting. SCORA is part of North’s Safety Management 2.0 initiative, which focuses on a more person-centric approach to safety.

Dr. Sadan Kaptanoglu, President, BIMCO received the SAFETY4SEA Personality Award, sponsored by SQE MARINE for her overall contribution to BIMCO, TURMEPA and INTERMEPA, inspiring industry with her personality, especially for the role or women within a male dominant industry. The Personality Award is a special category of award, nominated directly by the SAFETY4SEA editorial team, without the open voting procedure.

Şadan Kaptanoğlu is the head of the Kaptanoglu Group, one of Turkey's most prominent shipping companies which can trace its origins back more than 100 years. Today, the group owns a fleet of tankers, a shipyard with 1300 workers, as well as ship management, chartering and agency service businesses. Since June 2019, Şadan Kaptanoğlu has been the President of BIMCO – the world’s largest shipping association, thereby becoming the first woman to reach that position

Dimitrios Fafalios, President, INTERCARGO received the SAFETY4SEA Leadership Award, sponsored by SQE MARINE for providing industry leadership and promoting shipping interests in the global maritime community especially in the way of his involvement with the work of INTERCARGO. The Leadership Award is a special category of award, nominated directly by the SAFETY4SEA editorial team, without the open voting procedure.

Dimitrios Fafalios is the President of INTERCARGO, The International Association of Dry Cargo Shipowners, since January 2019. INTERCARGO currently has 2,200 vessel-members. The Association takes forward its Members’ positions to the IMO, as well as to other shipping and international industry fora, having free and fair competition as a principle. Mr. Fafalios replaced Mr. Ioannis Platsidakis, who completed 6 creative years at the wheel of the Association. Also, he is President and Director of Fafalios Shipping SA from 2008 to today.


Find photos from the awards ceremony at Flickr and explore more about the nomination & voting procedure and the winners of 2019 SAFETY4SEA Awards at