Dr. Sadan Kaptanoglu, President, BIMCO received the SAFETY4SEA Personality Award, sponsored by SQE MARINE for her overall contribution to BIMCO, TURMEPA and INTERMEPA, inspiring industry with her personality, especially for the role or women within a male dominant industry.

Presenting the award Mrs. Aggeliki Theodosiou, Client Service Manager, SQE Marine, said “Apart from being the head of one of Turkey's most prominent and historic shipping companies, Dr. Kaptanoglu is the first woman to take the helm in BIMCO - the world’s largest shipping association. In particular, becoming the first woman to reach that position is proof that industry’s efforts for gender diversity have started to pay off. Diversity in management can only bring benefits to shipping industry and nowadays, we are delighted to witness more and more women in high-ranking positions.

Accepting the award on behalf of Dr. Sadan Kaptanoglu, Mr. Panagiotis Smyroglou, Founder, Abacus, stated: “As a few days ago it was the World Maritime Day, Dr. Kaptanoglu is empowering us already starting from her shipping company, and now for being a constructive and very dynamic personality.”

Şadan Kaptanoğlu is the head of the Kaptanoglu Group, one of Turkey's most prominent shipping companies which can trace its origins back more than 100 years. Today, the group owns a fleet of tankers, a shipyard with 1300 workers, as well as ship management, chartering and agency service businesses. Since June 2019, Şadan Kaptanoğlu has been the President of BIMCO – the world’s largest shipping association, thereby becoming the first woman to reach that position. On her agenda as BIMCO’s President, the focus will be on various economic, regulatory and environmental challenges that industry is currently facing as well as on the effective implementation of the 2020 sulphur cap, ensuring a level playing field. She completed her PHD in De Montfort University after she graduated from Cass Business School, MSC Shipping, Finance and Trade. Şadan Kaptanoğlu is the Chairperson of TURMEPA and Vice President of INTERMEPA. She is also serving on the board of directors of the Turkish Chamber of Shipping and Piri Reis Maritime University.

The Personality Award is a special category of award, nominated directly by the SAFETY4SEA editorial team, without the open voting procedure. SAFETY4SEA Awards are held annually within the scope of awarding industry’s outstanding practices for Excellence, Sustainability, Training, Technology, Initiative and Leadership. Other winners of the 2019 SAFETY4SEA Awards are: Alpha Bulkers Shipmanagement Inc. for the Dry Bulk Operator Award, Springfield Shipping Co. for the Tanker Operator Award, Sustainable Shipping Initiative for the Initiative Award, Metropolitan College/ Warshash Maritime Academy for the Training Award, Synergy Group for the Technology Award, The North of England P&I Club for the Initiative Award and Mr. Dimitrios Fafalios, INTERCARGO for the Leadership Award.


Find photos from the awards ceremony at Flickr and explore more about the nomination & voting procedure and the winners of 2019 SAFETY4SEA Awards at https://events.safety4sea.com/2019-safety4sea-awards/