The North Sea Countries (Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, and United Kingdom) have communicated their BWE requirements which are being enforced by local Port State Controls, and significant monetary penalties may be levied for non-compliance.

In IMO Circular BWM.2/Circ.56, the North Sea countries have designated specific areas for BWE in the North Sea Area. The BWE areas are for intra North Sea traffic only and are considered a temporary regulation that terminates when ships meet regulation D-2 of the International Convention for the Control and Management of Ships Ballast Water and Sediments.

Marshall Islands urge operators of ships engaged on intra-North Sea voyages to familiarize themselves with the requirements of IMO Circular BWM.2/Circ.56 and the maps, as corrected by the Kompromisslinie1 , contained below:

  • The North Sea Ballast Water map, outlining acceptable areas for BWE as corrected for Norway’s EEZ,
  • Area average risk index (ARI) in the North Sea, shows areas, defined in red and taking into account the Traffic Separation Scheme Terschelling German Bight, where BWE must not take place.

You can read the advisory by the Republic of the Marshall Islands on Ballast Water Exchange requirements by clicking below